Starting today, July 6 2017, Colombia joins to the Global Patent Prosecution Highway (PPH) pilot program, integrated by 24 countries from different continents, being the first Latin American country to join into it.

The GPPH pilot will allow patent applicants to request accelerated examination at any of the offices involved in the pilot if their claims have been found to be acceptable by any of the other offices involved in the pilot.

Currently, the members of GPPH are Spain, Finland, Great Britain, Hungary, Israel, Iceland, Japan, South Korea, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Sweden, Singapore, United States of America, Austria, Australia, Canada , Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Nordic Countries (represented by the Nordic Institute) and Colombia.